Nha Trang – Tuy Hoa

Distance: 123 km

Time taken: Around 3.5 hours

Route rating: 7:10

We left Nha Trang late morning setting off with Qui Nhon as our target destination for the day. Qui Nhon was 213km north of Nha Trang and is generally used as the middle overnight point for the long stretch of highway 1 between Nha Trang and Hoi An. As you can guess from the title of the blog we didn’t make it to Qui Nhon as the conditions and bikes conspired against us and we had our first breakdown of the trip…

Nha Trang – Tuy Hoa

On the way to Qui Nhon Tuy Hoa there is a waterfall which is definitely worth stopping at even after all the delights around Dalat. Ba Ho waterfalls is about 30 minutes off the main road and is a great place to stop and refresh yourself after a mornings drive on the sweaty southern roads. 

We took our swimming costumes and towels with us and after clambering over rickety rocks and perilous paths we made it to the falls and jumped in, and staged our very own herbal essences advert. 

Ba Ho Waterfalls

After a long refreshing dip we were back on the road and were treated to more awesome coastal views. These views topped those we had seen on the road running to Mui Ne as there was a combination of hills and harbours meaning there were hidden pockets of paradise beaches around most corners as opposed to one single long sandy expanse. All of these beaches were completely deserted and I felt a twinge of regret that we didn’t have a tent with us as these would have been amazing spots to spend a night under the stars. 

At around 4pm we made it to Tuy Hoa and decided to push on the extra 80km to Qui Nhon. About 20km down the road disaster struck, as I went to accelerate I felt a click and then all resistance left the accelerator hand grip… The cable that attached my accelerator handle to the engine snapped meaning that I couldn’t accelerate or move anywhere. Of course this happened as I was going uphill so I came to a standstill almost immediately and had to sheepishly pullover on the side of the road. I coasted the bike back down the hill (on the wrong side of the road but it’s okay because I was beeping) and luckily found a mechanic a stones throw away from where I had the accident. 

I wandered over the mechanic and using a combination of mime and my extremely basic Vietnamese I managed to portray the incident. *I walked into his shop and said ‘xe may’ (motorbike) he nodded and I then proceeded to the second part of this charade. I pretended to be sat on a motorbike trying to accelerate and pointed at my hand that was trying to accelerate and said ‘khong’ (no). After lots of laughter from him and his pals he wandered over to my bike on the other side of the road with a new cable and fixed it. The 20 minute job cost me a whopping 50,000 VND (£1.50) and then we were ready to go again. 

By the time the bike was fixed we knew that we weren’t going to make it to Qui Nhon before dark so we took the cautious decision to turn back and spend the night in Tuy Hoa. 

Click here for the next section of the trip.

For other sections of the trip click here

One thought on “Nha Trang – Tuy Hoa

  1. Pingback: Dalat – Nha Trang – Big Red Travel

Leave a Reply

